A Heart Longing To Pray Like JESUS

ASKS

(Luke 22:39-44 CEB- JESUS left and made HIS way to the Mount of Olives, as was HIS custom, and the disciples followed HIM. When HE arrived, HE said to them, “Pray that you won’t give in to temptation.”. HE withdrew from them about a stone’s throw, knelt down, and prayed. HE said, “FATHER, if it’s YOUR Will, take this cup of suffering away from ME. However, not MY Will but YOUR Will must be done.”. Then a heavenly angel appeared to HIM and strengthened HIM. HE was in anguish and prayed even more earnestly. HIS sweat became like drops of blood falling on the ground.)

Today’s focal passage truly humbled my heart. It reminded me that though JESUS is 100% GOD; omniscient and omnipotent, HE was also 100% man which means HE was fully aware of what it means to truly feel and live life as a human being. The more I read the more my heart and my thoughts were drawn to HIM. HE knowingly held all power as GOD, yet as man HIS heart still remained completely obedient to the Will of GOD THE FATHER.

JESUS withdrew from them about a stone’s throw, knelt down, and prayed. HE said, “FATHER, if it’s YOUR Will, take this cup of suffering away from ME. However, not MY Will but YOUR Will must be done.”. Above and beyond HIS own Will and through HIS suffering and affliction, it was still more important to HIM to honor the Will of HIS FATHER. How often do we truly pray for GOD’S Will to manifest in our lives above our own?

Throughout this entire passage of SCRIPTURE there was one word that I stood in complete awe of… if. Notice that as JESUS was praying HE didn’t just ask GOD to remove HIM from the dolor and distress that HE was bearing. HE said, “FATHER, “if” it’s YOUR Will, take this cup of suffering away from ME.”. To me, HE was saying, “FATHER, remove this cup of suffering away from ME only “if” it’s what YOU desire to accomplish through MY life”. JESUS treasured GOD’S plan and purpose above HIS own life! And HE loved and valued us enough to remain obedient to what HE knew in HIS heart GOD had called HIM to do. I’m so amazed by that!

I’ve gained valuable life gems through reading today’s passage. JESUS suffered and endured so much more than I will ever have to bear, yet instead of complaining, HE prayed. HE wholeheartedly trusted GOD with HIS life whether it was going to be for HIM to live or to die and our GOD is so amazing that even through death, HE gave and still gives LIFE.

There are two things that I want you guys to take with you today: JESUS valued prayer because HE had faith in what intimately conversing with GOD had the power to accomplish in and through HIS life and HE knew that even if HE had to suffer that GOD had an incredible purpose for it. (Romans 8:28-30 NIV- We know that in all things GOD works for the good of those who love HIM, who have been called according to HIS purpose. For those GOD foreknew HE also predestined to be conformed to the image of HIS SON, that HE might be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters. And those HE predestined, HE also called; those HE called, HE also justified; those HE justified, HE also glorified.)

Don’t get discouraged by your trials, tribulations, or circumstances, but be encouraged that you serve THE GOD WHO has the power to deliver you from them! (1 Peter 5:10 NLV- After you have suffered for awhile, GOD HIMSELF will make you perfect. HE will keep you in the right way. HE will give you strength. HE IS THE GOD of all loving-favor and has called you through CHRIST JESUS to share HIS shining-greatness forever.)

I don’t know about you guys, but my heart is longing to pray like JESUS; constantly, relentlessly, selflessly, and faithfully! Our GOD gives LIFE and that LIFE is found in knowing HIM intimately. I pray that through your prayers, you become divinely connected and acquainted with GOD so that HIS PRESENCE, power, promises, purpose, and provision will reign in your life always!

I love you guys!

Believe, Be Beautiful, Be Brilliant, and Be Blessed! 🙂

You can send me your prayer requests by simply clicking here.

Blog / Facebook / Twitter / Pinterest / Google+Instagram / Young Living Essential Oils With Tai East 

24 thoughts on “A Heart Longing To Pray Like JESUS

  1. This is a wonderful insight, and what a great post to read ahead of 2015! I can look to Jesus for the most amazing example and the way to really live a life for the Lord! Thank you for sharing at the linkup today 🙂 God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Ruth! And you are so very welcome! I’m so glad that it touched your heart, Love! I’m looking forward to reading your contribution on LinkUp! I know that it’s going to be awesome! Infinite blessings to you! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: A Heart Longing To Pray Like JESUS | Christians Anonymous

  3. “If” is a little word with a huge meaning. It moves like a door hinge taking my desires and holding them fast to His plan. If I cling to His will, then everything turns out just right. Thanks for this. Such an encouraging word, Tai.
    Oh, and I LOVE your tag at the end.. “Believe, Be Beautiful, Be Brilliant, and Be Blessed!” That needs to be on a Pinterest board for sure. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Renee, you are so very welcome! Your words of kindness and encouragement have truly blessed my heart! I’m grateful for you, Love! Thank you and infinite blessing to you, sweet friend! 🙂

      Like

  4. Tai, I love the heart, passion and truth you share. This is a faith prayer – to really trust the Father’s ultimate will. This post is so spot on. I love how you encourage us in who Christ was and is. He is the perfect model for us and you encourage us in our place of difficulty. Blessings to you sister, you are doing some awesome things. The Spirit rests upon you in a mighty way -that I know. Thank you Jesus!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awww! Thank you so very much, Kelly! 🙂

      I’m so glad that you invited me to join you in LinkUp because I’ve been writing so much more and I needed that. As I’m writing to encourage the hearts of others, GOD is continually encouraging mine throughout the process and that has been a beautiful thing. I really look forward to encouraging everyone on Mondays and writing and reading everyone’s work on Tuesdays. It’s the best! You’re the best! You are an amazing person and friend. You have inspired, encouraged, and enriched my spirit and I’m so thankful for you! Love you, my friend! Happy New Year and infinite blessings to you and your family! 🙂

      Like

  5. Thank you for sharing this Tai! This is such a timely word!!!
    I, too, long to pray like Jesus…consistently.
    Blessings over this upcoming year for you…and may He continue to speak to and through you…in Jesus’ name.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. How powerful is that scripture along with the message. One of my favorites because it helped me realize how important it was to seek God and live my life according to his will. As well as understand that God is still with me in the midst of trials and it is all in his will. So many people think trials and obstacles means God is no longer with them. Not realizing that Jesus experienced trials and tribulation but yet he understood it was all apart of God’s will. Thank you so much for this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

